Government businesses in Zambia

Authorities, commissions, councils, departments, institutes, ministries and services of the Government
1-2 of 2 results
Zambia Wildlife Authority (ZAWA)
Government authority
Zambia Wildlife Authority (ZAWA) has a vital role to play in the economic development of Zambia. It contributes significantly to the economy and to the gross domestic product (GDP). ZAWA improves the quality of life among communities in wildlife estates and maintains sustainable biodiversity in national parks.
Food Reserve Agency (FRA)
Government agency
The Food Reserve Agency (FRA) was established to ensure a reliable supply and meet local shortfalls in the supply of designated agricultural commodities. This agency also addresses issues affecting the food reserve and the stabilisation of prices. FRA's goal is to complete the value chain by providing market access to small scale farmers in rural areas.


Authorities, commissions, councils, departments, institutes, ministries and services of the Government
Authorities mandated by acts of parliament which are listed here like ZRA, JCA and PPCA.
Statutory bodies with legislative and executive authority in a board of commissioners
There are 19 government ministries. Ministers serve as political heads of ministries,
The government is organised into ministries. Each ministry is organised into departments
Find a list of the government-run university and college MOHE institutes in the country.
Online service provided by government departments to pay for services provided to the public
1991 Local Government Act provides three types of councils: city, municipal and district.

The Zambian Government framework was set up when the nation obtained independence from Britain in 1964. Arms of Government include the executive, the legislature and the judiciary, which work on the principle of separation of powers.

There are also ten provinces in Zambia, which are purely administrative Government authorities. Local government comprises three types of councils: city, municipal and district. There are 99 local authorities that the Ministry of Local Government and Housing oversees, consisting of four city councils, 15 municipal councils and 84 district councils. In general, city councils are located in areas which have larger populations, while the municipal councils cover the suburban regions.

Examples of commissions are the Electoral Commission of Zambia, the Zambia Police Service Commission. the Local Government Service Commission, the Anti-Corruption Commission, and the Teaching Service Commission of Zambia. The primary functions of the Teaching Service Commission of Zambia are registration, recruitment, transfer, promotion, discipline and termination of employment of teachers in the Public Service.

Governance institutions include Parliament, Office of the President, Office of the Auditor-General, and the Ministry of Commerce, Trade and Industry. Other institutions are the Local Government Association of Zambia, the Bank of Zambia, the Lusaka Stock Exchange, the Zambia Bureau of Standards, and the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Councils are set up to lead or govern. There is the Zambia Council for Social Development, the Zambia National Council for Construction, and the Zambia Council for Persons with Disabilities, amongst others.

Zambian Government ministries consist of:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives

Ministry of Commerce, Trade and Industry

Ministry of Education

Ministry of Energy and Water Development

Ministry of Finance and National Planning

Ministry of Health

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting Services

Ministry of Labour and Social Security

Ministry of Lands

Ministry of Local Government and Housing

Ministry of Mines and Minerals Development

Ministry of Science and Technology

Ministry of Tourism, Environment and Natural Resources

Ministry of Communication and Transport

Ministry of Works and Supply

Ministry of Justice

Ministry of Gender and Development

Ministry of Sport Youth and Child Development

Ministry of Home Affairs

Ministry of Community Development and Social Services.